Left Shadow
Right Shadow
blank 10/11/12 10:31AM AOPA, AOPA Convention, Events, Palm Springs, Parade of Planes, Tradeshows

Pilot, City Commissioner Honored with AOPAs Lets Go Flying Award

Palm Springs, Calif.  The Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) has named Jamie Beckett of Winter Haven, Fla., the recipient of its 2012 Let™s Go FlyingAward, for his efforts in promoting and defending general aviation. The award was presented during the AOPA Aviation Summit in Palm Springs, Calif.

Becketts love of aviation began early as the son of a U. S. Air Force pilot who flew F-86s before becoming a Pan Am captain. After a youthful flirtation¯ with the music industry, at age 30, Beckett decided to switch careers.

Beckett originally intended to be an airline pilot and got his first job as a flight instructor in Winter Haven in 1991. He also began writing about aviation issues for US Aviator. He earned his airframe and powerplant license in 1998.

Beckett has held jobs including a stint at Tim Reillys Warbird Museum in Kissimmee, Fla., where he helped rebuild the B-17 that toured the country as the Liberty Belle. He also did marketing and restoration work for Fantasy of Flight. And he has just completed his third year as an elected city commissioner, a position he uses to regularly advocate for general aviation and Gilbert Field.

Beckett blazed a trail in aviation advocacy by founding and serving as chairman of the Polk Aviation Alliance. The alliance was created to bring together the management of Polk County's municipally owned airports, as well as that of Sun 'n Fun, Fantasy of Flight, the Seaplane Pilots Association, the Central Florida Aerospace Academy, Polk State College, and various government agencies. He writes about the joys and benefits of the industry in General Aviation News and uses that publication, along with his website, JamieBeckett.com, to encourage others to become general aviation advocates.

The Let™s Go Flying Award honors the individual or organization that best demonstrates the passion and commitment needed to ensure the future of general aviation. Previous winners include: 2011, Mireille Goyer, creator of the annual Women of Aviation Worldwide Week initiative; 2010, U.S. Marine Capt. Gabriel Glinsky, a V-22 Osprey pilot who taught a civilian ground school during a nine-month combat tour in Afghanistan; and 2009, actor/pilot Harrison Ford.


blank Permalink | Print | E-mail | Comments (121)